Skip to content

Sweets!

04/16/2013

It was the week after Easter and I thought, what was the harm?  I let my son Billy eat all the candy he wanted to.  He was full to his eyeballs and bouncing off the walls with energy.  I wish I could have controlled it and made him clean but it was enough to pry him off the ceiling.

After about an hour the sugar crash happened and we put him to bed, grateful for the peace and quiet. My wife and I went to bed ourselves shortly after Billy was snoring.  We both woke up a few hours later to him crying and whimpering in bed.  I got to him first and he told me that he had a really big bad headache, it felt like his brain was moving. 

After a few tries of normal remedies, we decided to try the ER.  After a long wait in with coughers and sneezers and whiners, we were finally called back.  The doctor couldn’t explain the movement Billy was feeling and wanted to try a cat scan.  He confided in us that is was possible some sort of parasite had gotten in and was causing havoc.

It was tough to watch my son going into that big machine, (they let me watch because he’s only 6) but I knew it was necessary.  After a little while in the scanner the nurse was taking care of Billy and the doctor told me the scan results would come up on a screen shortly.

As the image of my son’s brain came onto the screen I heard the doctor mumbling under his breath, asking himself what in the heck he was seeing.  I had no idea what I was looking at, it looked like pieces of his brain had broken loose or something and were moving around in his head.  The doctor enlarged the image up on some of the bits and as they became clearer on the screen, we both stood up with our hands over our mouths.  The shock and horror filled the small room.

The bits were not parts of his brain.

They were ANTS!  They were everywhere in his brain, and it looked like they were heading down his throat too, eating the sugary residue from all the sweets he had eaten.  From the chew marks on his lips, ears and nose it was apparent how the ants had gotten into his head.  He must have had sticky sugar left over on his mouth and the assumption was that he had smeared it on his pillow and then onto his ears. 

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Until your U.L. front page is up, here is my U.L. front page – http://beckisbookblog.wordpress.com/urbanlegends/

Leave a Reply

Sgt Pepper Photos

Discovering the source photos for The Beatles' 1967 album Sgt Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band

creativecolouringblog.wordpress.com/

Be Creative & Colour! is all about colouring (for grown-ups)

SoftBody Sweethearts

Your Curvy Crush - the most lovely girls of Seattle and the Pacific Northwest.

The Poetic Anatomy of a Creepy Darling

Like sipping afternoon tea scared and naked--it's all in the etiquette.

Sixand5

Fashion . Design . Magazine

The Molotov Cocktail

A PROJECTILE FOR INCENDIARY FLASH FICTION

The Carnage Conservatory

Psycho Killers of Print

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

Mike Monson

Writer of dark and creepy crime stories

PreppingToSurvive.com

Preparing to survive the end of the world as we know it

Me, Myself et Moi

Elle, Eighteen, Exploring.

Blue Eyes and White Lies

A writer, lover, thinker, and midwestern, book-loving sexpot.

The Neighborhood

society online's social conscious

Eat, Sleep, Television

Watch as I amaze and astound with opinions about what TV shows I like!

Foxy's Blog

Exploring the things that currently interest me

zoetic * epics

world travel . food . photography . adventure

